Interesting Facts about The Mr.Olympia

Interesting Facts about The Mr.Olympia

Mr. Olympia is the title bestowed to the winner of ‘professional men’s bodybuilding competition at Joe Weider’s Olympia Fitness & Performance Weekend.’ This international bodybuilding competition is held annually by the International Federation of Body Building and Fitness. The world’s most excellent bodybuilder’s are eligible for this contest.

The first-ever Mr. Olympia was held on September 18, 1965, at the Brooklyn Academy of Music, New York City. Since 1965, only 15 have been crowned as Mr. Olympia, and Larry Scott was the first to win the contest. Surprisingly, Olympia came from a brewing company in Washington which Leopard Schmidt founded in 1986.

Since 1999, Las Vegas, Nevada has been the home for Olympia, but from 1965 to 1999, various places have hosted the events. Larry Scott not only won the first title of Mr. Olympia but is the only champion who has never lost the title.

The Mr. Olympia trophy was named after Eugene Sandow, an iconic bodybuilder, and showman who has competed in Strongman. The first Sandow trophy was awarded in the Mr. Olympia competition in 1977, in honor of Eugen Sandow’s contribution to the sport.  

What is the competition all about?

Mr. Olympia is a bodybuilding competition that is held annually by IFBB. For the past 50 years, the Mr. Olympia contest encourages bodybuilders across the world to compete with each other to win the title of Mr. Olympia, a prize, fame, and notoriety that would follow the winner’s for lifetime. The competition is a storied tournament brought to life by the visionary Joe Weider.

Each bodybuilder has to qualify for the contest as per guidelines. The IFBB selects participants among the highest placed competitors referred to as Olympia qualifying season. The qualifying season runs almost for a year and ends few months before the competition starts.

Where is the Mr. Olympia being held in 2021?

Last year, the scenario of the competition was completely different as there was no crowd present. The contest took place only in the presence of officials and in high demand; the show was made available through video-on-demand service.

As of 2021, there is a piece of good news for fans as the dates for Mr. Olympia 2021 is out, and the wait is less as compared to the previous year’s contest. The fitness industry’s most esteemed event returns to Orlando, Florida, in October 2021.

This year the contest has brought a sigh of relief to the audience as the organizers are allowing live audiences to book the show’s ticket from the official site. As per the news, Mr. Olympia 2021 is scheduled from the 5th of October to the 10th of October. The main event of pre-judging will be held on the 8th of October, and the finals will take place on the 10th of October.

Who holds the most records for the Mr. Olympia appearances?

In the sport of bodybuilding, Mr. Olympia is the most renowned title and this title is awarded to the men’s open bodybuilding class at the Joe Weider’s Olympia Fitness & Performance Weekend held annually. The winner is rewarded with a Eugene Sandow trophy and a pre-decided cash prize.

Lee Haney and Ronnie Coleman hold the records for most Mr. Olympia title wins with 8 Mr. Olympia titles each. From 1984-1991, lee Haney was the first to achieve this incredible title, while from 1998-2005, Ronnie Coleman joined him on the top spot winning the Mr. Olympia title.

Who is the youngest and the oldest to ever win The Mr. Olympia?

It has been more than 50 years since the launch of the contest of Mr. Olympia. Over the years, we have witnessed many great bodybuilders who have won this show. The interesting fact is that all those who have won the show were not of the same age. There’s an age difference of 20 years between the youngest and the oldest Mr. Olympia winner.

Arnold Schwarzenegger holds the record for youngest Mr. Olympia champion in 1970 at the age of 23 years and 2 months, while the oldest ever Mr. Olympia is Shawn Rhoden, who won the competition at the age of 43 years and 5 months in 2018. In 1971, Arnold Schwarzenegger put on a one-man show as the three others competitors were disqualified before the competition.

How many contestants have won the competition since its inception?

This is for sure that everyone knows Arnold, but there are 14 others who have flexed their way to Mr. Olympia fame since 1965. Here is the list of all the winners of Mr. Olympia since its inception-

  • Larry Scott (1965-66)
  • Sergio Olivia (1967-69)
  • Arnold Schwarzenegger (1970-75, 1980)
  • Franco Columbu (1976-81)
  • Frank Zane (1977-79)
  • Chris Dickerson (1982)
  • Samir Bannout (1983)
  • Lee Haney (1994-91)
  • Dorian Yates (1992-97)
  • Ronnie Coleman (1998-2005)
  • Jay Cutler (2006-07 & 2009-10)
  • Dexter Jackson (2006-08)
  • Phil health (2011-17)
  • Shawn Roden (2018)
  • Brandon Curry (2019)

What is the winning price for the Mr. Olympia winner?

Mr. Olympia is the biggest title in the whole world in sports of bodybuilding. The contest winner is rewarded with a cash prize and a Eugene Sandow trophy, and the title of Mr. Olympia. The 2019 winner of the competition, Brandon Curry, won a check of $400,000 and the Sandow trophy. Since 1965, the inception of Mr. Olympia, the prize money has increased from $1000 to $400,000.